Photonics Ireland 2015


Photonics Ireland 2015 took place from the 2nd – 4th September 2015 in the Maryborough Hotel and Spa, Cork. The biennial Photonics Ireland conference series is the premier conference event for photonics research in Ireland. With a list of high profile national and international invited speakers, the main purpose of the conference is to showcase some of the latest research in photonics. . Technical topics include:

  • Biophotonics and Optical Sensing
  • Imaging
  • Laser-Materials and Laser-Plasma Interactions
  • Nanophotonics and Plasmonics
  • Optical Communications and Networks
  • Photonic Integration and Packaging
  • Photonic Devices
  • Photonic Materials
  • Quantum Optics and Quantum Technologies
  • Entrepreneurship in Optics and Photonics and exhibition

With a commercial aspect – a session on Entrepreneurship – and activities linked to the International Year of Light, the conference will benefited both students and other attendees, with a focus on the economic importance of the science. The event also provided students the opportunity to showcase aspects of their work as part of a poster exhibition and with a social setting to encourage networking.

UCD OSA Student Chapter member, Ra’ed Malallah attended Photonics Ireland 2015 and presented a poster, “Multilayer Data Storage Fundamental for Photopolymer Materials Solved by 3 Dimensional NPDD model” (Ra’ed Malallah, Haoyu Li, Yue Qi, and John T. Sheridan).

IMG_2107  IMG_2117

Conference Chair: Programme Committee Chair:
Prof. Paul Townsend Prof. Eoin O’Reilly
Tyndall National Institute Tyndall National Institute
University College Cork University College Cork
Tel: +353 21 490 4857 Tel: +353 21 234 6413
Email: Email:

Technical Programme Committee:

  • Biophotonics and Optical Sensing
    Prof. Tia Keyes (DCU)
    Prof. Martin J. Leahy (NUIG)
    Prof. James McLaughlin (UU)
  • Imaging
    Dr. Brian Vohnsen (UCD)
    Prof. Eithne McCabe (TCD)
    Dr. Nicholas Devaney (NUIG)
  • Laser-Materials and Laser-Plasma Interactions
    Prof. Marco Borghesi (QUB)
    Prof. Gerard O’Connor (NUIG)
    Prof. Gerry O’Sullivan (UCD)
  • Nanophotonics and Plasmonics
    Prof. Louise Bradley (TCD)
    Dr. Enda McGlynn (DCU)
    Dr. Bob Pollard (QUB)
  • Optical Communications and Networks
    Prof. Liam Barry (DCU)
    Prof. Gerald Farrell (DIT)
    Dr. Fatima Gunning (TNI)
  • Photonic integration and packaging
    Dr. Frank Peters (UCC-TNI)
    Dr. Peter O’Brien (TNI)
    Dr. Michael Connelly (UL)
  • Photonic Devices
    Prof. John Donnegan (CRANN-TCD)
    Dr. Stephen Hegarty (CIT-TNI)
    Dr. Pascal Landais (DCU)
  • Photonic Materials
    Prof. Peter Parbrook (UCC-TNI)
    Prof. Werner Blau (TCD)
    Prof. Martyn Pemble (UCC-TNI)
  • Quantum Optics and Quantum Technologies
    Dr. Andreas Ruschhaupt (UCC)
    Dr. Emanuele Pelucchi (TNI)
    Prof. Mauro Paternostro (QUB)
  • Entrepreneurship in optics and photonics and exhibition
    Organisers: Dr. Patrick Morrissey (TNI), Dr. Frank Smyth (Pilot Photonics, TCD)